Workflow & AI · 5 min read
MCP server for social media content: local or hosted, which tools, and what to ask
An MCP server lets an AI agent use an app's actions, such as listing designs, creating slideshows and exporting. A local server runs on your computer, a hosted one runs at a vendor, and the risk grows with every tool that can change or publish things. Ask the questions below before you connect one.
Updated · Published by Fyslide
What does an MCP server do for social media content?
It gives an AI agent a set of actions in one app. Instead of you copying text between a chat window and a design tool, the agent calls named tools: list the designs, create a slideshow, change a text, export the slides. The agent, such as Claude Code, Codex or Cursor, is the client. The app side is the server. For the plain definition, see what an MCP server is.
For social media, the question is not whether a server exists. It is what the tools can reach, and where the server runs.
Is the server local or hosted?
| Local server | Hosted server | Self-hosted server | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Runs | On your computer, started by your agent; it needs the app running | At the vendor | On a machine you run |
| Your content | Stays where the app keeps it | Passes through the vendor | Passes through your own server |
| Accounts it can touch | Only what the app itself holds | The accounts you connect at the vendor | The accounts you connect to your server |
| Works when | The app is running and licensed | The vendor's service is up | Your server is up |
As of 5 November 2026, the vendor pages we read show a local server (Fyslide), an open-source server you can run yourself (Postiz) and several vendors that list an MCP server without saying where it runs:
- Local: Fyslide includes a local MCP server. Your coding agent (Claude Code, Codex or Cursor) starts it as a local process on your computer, and it works while the app runs and is licensed. The agent can then list designs, create slideshows, edit texts, replace images and export. The MCP docs list the tools.
- Listed, location not stated: Blotato (opens in a new tab) offers an MCP server, and its TikTok page (opens in a new tab) says it publishes videos and photo slideshows with scheduling, without you needing your own TikTok developer app. PostNitro (opens in a new tab) lists an MCP server, and SlideStorm (opens in a new tab) lists API and MCP. Contentdrips (opens in a new tab) lists API and MCP on Pro and up (its page is inconsistent in places, so check it), Hypefury (opens in a new tab) lists MCP, and Taplio (opens in a new tab) lists MCP v2 for LinkedIn only.
- Open source or self-hosted: Postiz (opens in a new tab) is an open-source scheduler with API, MCP and a CLI, and you can run it yourself with Docker or Helm (see its GitHub repository (opens in a new tab)).
- Browser companion: carousel.bot (opens in a new tab) describes optional AI editing through an MCP companion, with the editor working locally in your browser.
Ask each of the vendors listed as "location not stated" where its server runs before you assume either of the first two columns of the table applies.
Access can cost extra. Blotato's trial excludes the API and MCP, and PostNitro charges $10 a month for API, MCP and CLI on its non-Plus plans.
What tools does a slideshow server expose?
The tool list tells you what a wrong call can do. Sort the groups by how hard they are to undo.
| Tool group | What the agent can do | Reversible? |
|---|---|---|
| Read | List what exists, such as designs | Nothing changes |
| Create | Make a new slideshow from a design and a topic | A new item you can delete |
| Edit | Change texts, replace a picture on a slide | Changes an existing item; keep a copy first (Fyslide saves a version with each edit) |
| Export | Write slide files to a folder | Adds files on disk |
| Publish | Post or schedule to a social account | Public, and others may see it |
Fyslide's server covers the first four groups of this table, and the app does not post to TikTok or Instagram today. The MCP docs sort its 21 tools differently, into three groups: read, make and change. Steps that cost money, such as AI images, first come back as a plan with a token, and the confirm tool runs them only after you agree. A hosted tool with a publish group is a different category of risk, because one wrong call can put a draft in public.
Which security questions should you ask?
- Where does it run, and who can reach it? A local server should answer only your own computer.
- Which tools exist? Ask for the full list. Read-only first, publish last.
- Which accounts or tokens does it hold? A hosted publishing server holds a login to your TikTok account.
- Is the TikTok connection approved? TikTok says content posted through its API by unaudited clients is restricted to private viewing (TikTok for Developers (opens in a new tab), as of 4 August 2026). Postiz's docs say self-hosters must register their own TikTok app, and until it is audited, posts are forced private (Postiz docs (opens in a new tab)).
- What leaves your computer? A local server can still hand your text to the agent. The agent is a separate program, so check where it sends what it reads.
- Can you approve each write? Check whether your agent asks before it runs a tool, and keep that on for edit and publish tools.
- How do you revoke access? You should be able to stop the server and remove the token in one place.
- Who maintains it? Open-source code can be read. A hosted server is a service you trust.
One more risk applies to any tool-using agent. If the agent reads text from untrusted places, such as web pages, comments or files from strangers, that text can contain instructions. Keep publishing tools out of sessions that read untrusted content.
How do you try a server safely?
- Connect it to a throwaway project with no real accounts attached.
- Ask the agent to list what it can see and read the answer.
- Ask for one create or edit action, then open the result yourself.
- Turn on write tools one group at a time.
- Enable publishing last, and only with approval on every call.
For a worked example with a local server, read Claude Code and TikTok slideshows and the guide to Claude Code via MCP.
Does an MCP server cost money?
It depends on the tool. As of 5 November 2026, Blotato's trial excludes MCP and PostNitro charges $10 a month extra on its non-Plus plans. Fyslide includes its local server in the app, which must be running and licensed.
Can an MCP server post to TikTok for me?
Some can. As of 5 November 2026, Blotato's MCP server publishes photo slideshows with scheduling. Fyslide's does not post today; posting is Coming soon, included in your lifetime access as an update.
Sources
- Fyslide FAQ, Fyslide. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Blotato pricing, Blotato. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Blotato MCP for TikTok, Blotato. Checked November 5, 2026.
- PostNitro plans, PostNitro. Checked November 5, 2026.
- SlideStorm homepage and pricing, SlideStorm. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Contentdrips pricing, Contentdrips. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Hypefury homepage, Hypefury. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Taplio pricing, Taplio. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Postiz pricing, Postiz. Checked November 5, 2026.
- gitroomhq/postiz-app on GitHub, Postiz (GitHub). Checked November 5, 2026.
- Postiz docs: TikTok provider (self-host), Postiz. Checked November 5, 2026.
- CarouselBot (carousel.bot) homepage, CarouselBot. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Content Posting API: Get Started, TikTok for Developers, 2026-08-04. Checked November 5, 2026.