Tools & pricing · 5 min read
Scheduling TikTok photo carousels: Buffer, Publer and the rest compared
Buffer's help center says up to 10 images per TikTok post, Publer's says up to 35, and TikTok itself allows 35. Later, Hypefury and Postiz list TikTok but do not state photo-carousel support on the pages we read. All of this is as of 5 November 2026; check the vendor before relying on it.
Updated · Published by Fyslide
Which schedulers can post TikTok photo carousels, and how many images?
Only two schedulers state a TikTok image cap on the vendor pages we read. Buffer says 10 and Publer says 35. TikTok's Creator Academy (opens in a new tab) says a photo post can hold up to 35 images, so the Publer figure matches the platform and the Buffer figure is lower.
| Scheduler | TikTok photo posts, per its pages | Image cap stated | Free plan | Entry price, USD as listed |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| TikTok app | Native | 35 | Free | Free |
| Buffer (opens in a new tab) | Videos and images; auto-publish or a "notify me" reminder | 10 of your own images | Yes: 3 channels, 10 scheduled posts per channel | Essentials $5 per channel per month, yearly view (pricing (opens in a new tab)) |
| Publer (opens in a new tab) | Carousels, cannot mix GIFs or video | 35 | Yes, usable as long as you want | Professional from $5 a month for 1 account (plans (opens in a new tab)); check live |
| Later (opens in a new tab) | TikTok listed; carousels not stated on the pricing page | Not stated | No; 14-day trial | Starter $18.75 a month, yearly view |
| Hypefury (opens in a new tab) | TikTok listed; its feature list names carousels and LinkedIn PDF carousels, not TikTok photo posts | Not stated | No; 7-day trial | Flexible $6 a month per platform |
| Postiz (opens in a new tab) | TikTok channel; photo carousels not stated | Not stated | Hosted: no; self-hosting is free software | Standard $29 a month, 5 channels |
| Canva | Content Planner list does not include TikTok | Not applicable | Free design plan | Instagram scheduling needs a paid plan |
Prices are the vendor's list prices on 5 November 2026. Buffer's prices are per channel. Publer's help center showed its numbers, but its live pricing page did not, and the TikTok help article carries an update date of 11/02/2025 (format unclear). That is why the Publer row says "check live". Canva's planner list comes from a machine-translated German help page (Canva help (opens in a new tab)), which also says more platforms may be added.
Cells that say "not stated" mean exactly that. They do not mean the feature is missing. We did not read Later's help center, so this page makes no statement about its photo-carousel support.
Why are the caps different from TikTok's 35?
We do not know. Buffer's help page gives the number 10 and no reason. Buffer's media table (opens in a new tab) allows up to 20 images on an Instagram post, so 10 is specific to its TikTok integration, not a general Buffer image limit.
Third-party blogs list other TikTok limits, such as 1 to 10, 2 to 35 or 4 to 35. They conflict with TikTok's own "up to 35", and we ignore them. For the reasoning behind choosing a slide count, see how many photos a TikTok slideshow can have.
The practical result: a 12-slide carousel cannot go through Buffer as written. You can trim to 10 slides, post that one natively in the TikTok app, or use a tool whose page states a higher cap.
What do TikTok's own API rules mean for a scheduled post?
TikTok documents a Content Posting API for third-party posting, and its rules shape what a scheduler can offer. As of 27 October 2026 (photo-post reference) and 4 August 2026 (media transfer guide), these come from the photo-post reference (opens in a new tab) and the media transfer guide (opens in a new tab).
- Images are pulled from public URLs. Up to 35 URLs, and the only allowed source is a URL TikTok fetches, not a file upload.
- Formats. The guide lists WebP and JPEG, a 20 MB limit per image, and "Maximum 1080p". It does not list PNG, so export JPG if a tool is unclear.
- Two post modes. DIRECT_POST publishes. MEDIA_UPLOAD sends the post to your TikTok inbox so you finish it in TikTok's editor. Buffer's page describes auto-publishing or a reminder. We found no vendor page that maps its options onto these two modes.
- Music. Photo posts can carry one sound, and Buffer's page says the TikTok music library is not available through the API. If the sound matters, plan to add it yourself in the app.
- Cover. The API can select the cover photo by index. Ask a tool whether you can choose the cover.
- Audit. Posts from unaudited clients are restricted to private viewing (TikTok for Developers (opens in a new tab)). Postiz's docs say self-hosters must register their own TikTok app, and until TikTok audits it, posts are forced private and limited to a few users per day (Postiz docs (opens in a new tab)).
Which slideshow makers also post to TikTok?
Several tools make the slides and post them, so you need no separate scheduler. The pages we read say:
- Blotato: its MCP server (opens in a new tab) posts TikTok photo slideshows with scheduling.
- SlideStorm: a TikTok scheduler (opens in a new tab) whose docs (opens in a new tab) say the API can generate and post slideshows.
- ReelFarm: Publish to TikTok (opens in a new tab) with scheduling on Growth and Scale.
- SlideReels: direct posting (opens in a new tab) to TikTok.
- PostNitro: native publishing (opens in a new tab) from the Creator+ plan.
- Predis.ai and Contentdrips: TikTok is listed, but Predis (opens in a new tab) and Contentdrips (opens in a new tab) do not state photo-carousel posting.
None of these pages states an image cap for TikTok posts. Check it against your slide count before you pay. The full comparison lists their prices.
How do you choose a scheduler?
- Count your longest carousel. Over 10 slides rules out Buffer as written.
- Decide whether you want auto-publishing or a reminder in your TikTok inbox.
- Check what the vendor says about your plan's limits, such as Buffer's 10 scheduled posts per channel on Free.
- Test with one low-stakes post and check the cover, caption and slide order in the app.
- Only then queue a week. Batching slideshows shows where scheduling fits in the workflow.
What should you check before queuing a batch?
- Every carousel is at or under the tool's stated cap.
- Images are JPG, which TikTok's API guide lists, unless the tool says PNG is accepted.
- Captions fit the tool's own limit. TikTok's Creator Academy (opens in a new tab) allows descriptions up to 4,000 characters; see TikTok slideshow captions.
- The sound is added or planned, if you use one.
- The account is connected through an audited app, so posts are not forced private.
Where does Fyslide fit?
Fyslide makes the slideshow files. It exports PNG or JPG slides, a caption and a zip (export guide), and you upload them yourself. Posting is marked Coming soon, included in your lifetime access as an update. Today you can send the exported files to a scheduler whose stated cap fits your slide count.
Can Buffer post a TikTok carousel with more than 10 images?
Buffer's help center says up to 10 of your own images per TikTok post, so not as written. Publer's help article states up to 35.
Can Canva schedule TikTok posts?
Its Content Planner platform list, as read on 5 November 2026, does not include TikTok. The page says more platforms may be added.
Sources
- Unleash Your Creativity: Tell Stories with Photos on TikTok, TikTok Creator Academy, 2026-07-03. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Content Posting API reference: Photo Post, TikTok for Developers, 2026-10-27. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Content Posting API: Media Transfer Guide, TikTok for Developers, 2026-08-04. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Content Posting API: Get Started, TikTok for Developers, 2026-08-04. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Buffer pricing, Buffer. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Buffer help: using TikTok with Buffer, Buffer. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Buffer help: attaching images, videos and other media to your posts, Buffer. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Publer help: what are Publer's plans and pricing, Publer. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Publer help: how to create a carousel (multi-photo) post for TikTok, Publer, 11/02/2025. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Later pricing, Later. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Hypefury pricing, Hypefury. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Postiz pricing, Postiz. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Postiz docs: TikTok provider (self-host), Postiz. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Canva help: Content Planner, Canva. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Blotato MCP for TikTok, Blotato. Checked November 5, 2026.
- SlideStorm homepage and pricing, SlideStorm. Checked November 5, 2026.
- SlideStorm docs, SlideStorm. Checked November 5, 2026.
- ReelFarm homepage and pricing, ReelFarm. Checked November 5, 2026.
- SlideReels homepage and pricing, SlideReels. Checked November 5, 2026.
- PostNitro plans, PostNitro. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Predis.ai pricing, Predis.ai. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Contentdrips pricing, Contentdrips. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Fyslide FAQ, Fyslide. Checked November 5, 2026.