Tools & pricing · 6 min read
Best AI carousel generator? Nine tools on the same criteria for Instagram
No single AI carousel generator is best for everyone. As of 5 November 2026, the nine tools below differ most on three things: whether the vendor lists Instagram posting, how it charges (monthly, credits or once) and whose AI writes the slides. The table sorts them on the same five criteria.
Updated · Published by Fyslide
How was this comparison built?
Every cell comes from the vendor's own pricing, help or product page, read on 5 November 2026. We tested no tool and used no reviews or star ratings, so the table says what each vendor states, not how good its slides are. Where a page is silent, the cell says "not stated". Where a page contradicts itself, the cell says that.
The five criteria are the same for every row: the AI and who supplies it, the slide cap, Instagram posting, what comes out, and the entry price with any free option. Prices are list prices in the currency shown. Canva showed Swiss francs only, so it has no number here. Fyslide, made by this site's publisher, is one row with its limits stated.
Which AI carousel tools compare on the same five criteria?
| Tool | AI and key | Slide cap | Instagram posting | Output | Entry price and free option |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PostNitro (opens in a new tab) | AI-written slides, images and captions; several GPT and Claude models by plan, included | AI slides per carousel: 5 Free, 8 Starter, 15 Creator+, 20 Team+ | Native publishing from Creator+ (up to 10 accounts); Free and Starter design and export only | Free-plan exports are watermarked | Free $0; Starter $15, Creator+ $30, Team+ $60 a month |
| aiCarousels (opens in a new tab) | 60 AI carousels and 100 AI pictures a month on Pro; Pro Lifetime runs on your own OpenAI key | Up to 20 slides | Lists LinkedIn only; no Instagram posting stated | HD PDF and PNG without watermark on paid plans | Free try (one carousel, no download); Pro $10 a month on yearly billing; Pro Lifetime $99 once |
| Contentdrips (opens in a new tab) | 10 credits per AI carousel, 25 per AI image; credits included | Not stated | Instagram is among the channels on Pro; Starter lists 2 channels | MP4 and GIF named on Starter; PNG and PDF not mentioned | Starter $15, Pro $29, Ultimate $52 a month; the page is inconsistent, so check live |
| Predis.ai (opens in a new tab) | AI posts, multi-slide carousels, captions and hashtags; 15 credits per slide, included | Not stated | Instagram is listed; auto-posting is not on the Core plan | Not stated | List $32, $79, $249 a month; a promotion showed $19, $40, $212 on yearly billing that day. No free plan; 3-day trial with a card |
| Blotato (opens in a new tab) | Unlimited AI writing; credits for AI images, video and voice | Not stated | Its API FAQ (opens in a new tab) says a list of image URLs posts as a carousel on Instagram or TikTok; Starter lists 20 social accounts | Templates include image slideshows | $29, $97, $499 a month; no free plan; 7-day trial with a card |
| SlideReels (opens in a new tab) | AI-generated slides, captions, images, hooks and avatars, included | Not stated | Creates Instagram carousels; direct Instagram posting not stated | Not stated | One plan on the yearly tab, $15 a month billed as $180; first slideshows free |
| Canva (opens in a new tab) | Limited AI on Free; a shared allowance on paid plans | Not stated | Instagram scheduling (opens in a new tab) handles a single image or video, not carousels, and needs a paid plan | PDF, JPG, PNG | Free plan; paid prices shown to us in CHF only |
| carousel.bot (opens in a new tab) | Optional AI editing through an MCP companion; the AI source is not stated | Not stated | None: export only | Slideshow images; formats not stated | No pricing in the app; its pricing address returned a 404 |
| Fyslide | Your own: Claude Code CLI, Codex CLI, Gemini CLI, Ollama, an Anthropic or an OpenAI key | Default six slides per post; no cap stated here | None today. Instagram carousel posting is Coming soon, included in your lifetime access as an update; you upload the files | PNG or JPG, caption and zip | One-time license, $49 to $149 by license number (live price); no free plan or trial |
Vendors edit these pages often, so treat each cell as true on 5 November 2026 only. TikTok-first tools such as ReelFarm and SlideStorm are left out of this table. ReelFarm's FAQ (opens in a new tab) says its slideshows can be reused on Instagram, and SlideStorm's FAQ (opens in a new tab) says there is no Instagram export yet. Both are covered in the TikTok slideshow tool comparison.
What does each tool do well?
- PostNitro: a free plan, a choice of AI models by plan, and native publishing to several platforms from Creator+.
- aiCarousels: a one-time price with your own key, 20 slides per carousel, and layouts and ghostwriters on Pro (304 and 19 on the page).
- Contentdrips: it states the AI cost of a carousel in credits, so the cost per carousel is easy to check.
- Predis.ai: a long channel list and competitor analysis alongside carousels.
- Blotato: unlimited AI writing plus an API, an MCP server, n8n and Make for agents.
- SlideReels: AI avatars and hooks, and a free first try.
- Canva: a free plan in a general design suite with PDF, JPG and PNG output.
- carousel.bot: an editor that works locally in your browser.
- Fyslide: it runs on your computer, works with the AI you already use, and costs one payment.
Which tools let you bring your own AI key?
| Tool | What you bring | Who bills the AI |
|---|---|---|
| aiCarousels Pro Lifetime | An OpenAI API key, kept in the browser | OpenAI |
| Fyslide | Claude Code CLI, Codex CLI, Gemini CLI, Ollama, or an Anthropic or OpenAI API key; keys are stored encrypted on your computer | The provider for API keys, your own plan for the CLIs, nobody for Ollama. Fyslide charges nothing for AI |
As of 5 November 2026, ReelFarm (opens in a new tab), which is TikTok-first and so outside the table, lists your own Anthropic key only on its $195 tier. A key does not make the AI free. The provider bills per use, so weigh that bill against a plan's included credits. The lifetime vs subscription calculator accepts a running cost for exactly this.
Do slide caps matter for an Instagram carousel?
As of November 2026, Instagram's Help Center (opens in a new tab) says a carousel can hold up to 20 photos and videos. A tool with a 20-slide cap can fill one. A lower cap forces you to cut or split. The arithmetic from the listed numbers:
- PostNitro counts AI slides per carousel. A ten-slide AI carousel needs a cap of at least 10, which means Creator+ (15) or Team+ (20).
- Predis.ai charges 15 credits per slide. A ten-slide carousel costs 150 credits, so the Core plan's 1,300 credits cover 8 of them (1,300 ÷ 150 is about 8.7).
- Contentdrips charges 10 credits per AI carousel, with AI images extra at 25 credits each.
Picture shape matters too. Instagram's photo help page (opens in a new tab) gives a supported ratio range of 1.91:1 to 3:4 and says unsupported ratios are cropped. Export at a ratio inside that range, as the Instagram carousel size guide explains.
What should you check before you pick one?
- Does the vendor list Instagram posting for the plan you would buy, and for carousels rather than single images?
- Is the slide cap counted in slides, AI slides or credits?
- Do the exports match what you upload: image files for a carousel, not only video or PDF?
- Is the price shown monthly or as a yearly-billing equivalent?
- Is there a trial or refund, and does it include the features you need?
- Who pays for AI images and for the AI itself?
- Does your export ratio sit inside Instagram's supported range?
Which AI carousel generator is free?
As of 5 November 2026, PostNitro has a free plan with limits (5 AI slides per carousel, 5 downloads a month, watermarked exports). aiCarousels offers a one-carousel try that cannot be downloaded, and Canva has a free plan with limited AI. See the free tier check.
Can an AI carousel generator post to Instagram for me?
Some vendors list it: PostNitro from Creator+, Blotato through its API, Predis.ai except on Core, and Contentdrips on Pro (its page is inconsistent, so check it). Others export files only. Check the plan you would buy, because posting is often limited to higher tiers.
Sources
- SlideStorm homepage and pricing, SlideStorm. Checked November 5, 2026.
- PostNitro plans, PostNitro. Checked November 5, 2026.
- aiCarousels pricing, aiCarousels. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Contentdrips pricing, Contentdrips. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Predis.ai pricing, Predis.ai. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Blotato pricing, Blotato. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Blotato help: start with an AI agent (FAQs), Blotato. Checked November 5, 2026.
- SlideReels homepage and pricing, SlideReels. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Canva pricing, Canva. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Canva help: scheduling posts on Instagram, Canva. Checked November 5, 2026.
- CarouselBot (carousel.bot) homepage, CarouselBot. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Fyslide FAQ, Fyslide. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Fyslide pricing, Fyslide. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Share a post with multiple photos or videos on Instagram, Instagram Help Center. Checked November 5, 2026.
- Image resolution of photos you share on Instagram, Instagram Help Center. Checked November 5, 2026.
- ReelFarm homepage and pricing, ReelFarm. Checked November 5, 2026.